Music to My Ears

It is pretty widely known amongst my friends that I have the most eclectic bunch of music you will find on my computer. When people ask, “What kind of music do you listen to?” I’m one of the rare breeds who actually means it when they say, “Everything.”

I’ve been on a big bout of writing recently in my novel, and if you follow me on Twitter, you’ve seen various tweets on how much I have left. (I’m still at 29,000 words, I was taking a break and formulating the end of the story.) Anyway, I’ve been really big on finding some good writing music recently, because Lord of the Rings soundtracks and Skillet CDs only last me for so long.

Then I came across Lindsey Stirling.

Lindsey Stirling Album CoverShe’s a pretty rocking violinist, and she violins on top of some catchy electric dance beats. From what I understand, she was on America’s Got Talent back in 2010. My friend discovered her through the wonders of Pandora, and he then forwarded her off to me.

Honestly, I thought talent like this was gone in the world of man. She is extraordinarily impressive on that violin, and some of the dubstep mixes she has on there are really well done. A nice mix of orchestral vs. electronic music, and it becomes very inspirational when you’re writing…especially when you’re writing a fantasy book like me. Check out one of her videos:

If you’re further interested, you can check out her website or preview her CD on iTunes.

If you’re not a big fan of music with no words, but you still like soft, relaxing music, I will direct you to none other than The Civil Wars.

The Civil WarsNow. I’m not usually a big bluegrass person. Or a big country person. Or a big folk person. Except for when it comes to The Civil Wars. An intricately blended duo, John Paul and Joy Williams create evocative music that captures the essence of heartache and the woes of love in an album woven with emotion. And they have two!

These two have a fine understanding of mixing pop with acoustic, while still being able to show an incredible amount of talent. It hurts me more than anything in the world right now to announce they have broken up. (Well, I didn’t announce it, but it still hurts me. Very much.) Apparently they have some differences in opinion, but hopefully they can mend their differences.

Barton HollowHaunting songs like “The One That Got Away”, “Dust to Dust”, and “Sacred Heart” make this album hard not to listen to over and over again. If you have characters who love each other but have a lot of baggage in between, hit these people up. Their debut CD, Barton Hollow, is also an extremely smooth listen. It’s a little softer, but that’s not a bad thing. The actual song, “Barton Hollow,” was the song that turned me on to this band, and I can’t get enough of them!

You can check out their website here (and hopefully be in the know about them getting back together, because I am sure waiting with some bated breath), and if you’re interested in either of their CDs, Barton Hollow can be found here and The Civil Wars here.

Well, hopefully you’ve found something you like! If not for writing purposes, maybe just for some general listening purposes:).

What do you all listen to, if anything, when you write?

The Featured Image can also be found at: http://learn.randolph.k12.ma.us/lapradee/Elementary%20Demo%20Day%202010/music-note-t10469.jpg just for some proper credit 😉

5 thoughts on “Music to My Ears

Thoughts?

