Out With the Old

I’ve been having a bit of a quarter-life crisis recently, and ever since my birthday I’ve been doing a lot of thinking. I know, I’m only 24, so what am I complaining about? I have my whole life in front of me, blah blah blah — trust me, I know. If I could backtrack in time, I’d tell my whiney 16-year-old self the same thing.

So, like everyone else who has a whatever-age-they-feel-like-having-it crisis, I bought a car.

I'm thinking of calling her Navidia. Just a thought. She's an evil character from my book, but I really like the name and feel like it totally suits the car.

I’m thinking of calling her Navidia. Just a thought. She’s an evil character from my book, but I really like the name and feel like it totally suits the car.

Whaaaaat?

I still can’t believe I did it. I’ve been talking about doing it for years, but I kept coming up with all of these excuses as to why I wouldn’t.

  • What if I didn’t like my new car?
  • What if I missed my old car?
  • What if I lose my job and I can’t pay for it?
  • What if I don’t make enough money for a payment one month?

All of these thoughts kept me back, as I’m sure anyone who’s ever thought about buying a car has done as well. I’ve been saving up for a couple of years now, and I’ve been feeling like I’m in the right spot to try it for a few reasons.

  • This will make me feel like an “adult.”
  • This will be my first big purchase that is all mine.
  • While I still love my old car t o bits and pieces, I need to let it go and start a different chapter in my life.

It’s odd how the process of buying a car has made me realize how much I hold on to things. Maybe not even just me. Part of the reason I wanted to hold on to my car so much was all of the memories I’ve made in it. His name was Cooper, he was a 2001 Chevrolet Malibu with a sun roof and a spoiler. He was pretty sexy. He’s been all over California with me, to 10 of the 15 Skillet concerts I’ve been to, to Nevada with me a few times (Reno and Vegas)…He’s been there for me through a lot of stuff. From Sophomore year of college all through now. The last five years with that car have been absolutely crazy.

But I needed to let all of that go.

My first car, Korey, was my high school car. Then Cooper was my college car. Now Navidia will be my adult car. It’s time to take that extra step forward in my life and stop viewing myself as a child. It might seem so ridiculous and so silly, but at the same time it’s really liberating. I’m at an age where I can do this. I’m financially stable enough to be able to do this. I don’t know if I’m allowed to discuss my credit score online, but let’s just say — it’s really, really good. The car was $18,000 and it’s my first one.

I’m hoping I don’t have this “buyer’s remorse” everyone speaks of, but the thought of a $300 car payment every month for the next 6 years is totally scary.

Cheers to being all grown up!

Thoughts?

