It Feels Like Forever

Daily Prompt: No Longer a Mere Mortal

You’ve imbibed a special potion that makes you immortal. Now that you’ve got forever, what changes will you make in your life? How will you live life differently, knowing you’ll always be around to be accountable for your actions?

Ah, to be immortal. To watch the world change throughout the years, to be a constant part of it, to never age a day or die.

Forget.

That.

Forever Does Not ExistI always thought it would be cool to live forever. Get me some Tuck Everlasting kind of water and just allow life to lead me. Maybe find me a vampire or two and become a creature of the night. The idea of immortality has always been prominent in my mind, especially leading into my novel, Immortality Awaits.

The problem with any immortal story is — it never ends.

That’s part of the excitement of life, I think. When you’re forced to live each day as if it were the last you’ll ever see, because you never know when you’ll die. If you’re immortal, death can only find you from the end of a sword or some other means of murder. Well, I may fear death to be sure, but I’d rather die alone in my sleep than be stabbed or shot or beheaded or tortured.

I’m just saying.

Feels Like Forever

Life is kind of hard enough as it is, I don’t need it to never end. What if I fell in love with someone who died when I was only 1,000 years old, and I had to live another 2,000 years without them? That’s lonely. That’s solitary. When people hear the word, “forever,” or even if they were offered the chance to live “forever”, they never think about “forever” in literal terms.

“For all time. For always.

We throw around the word “forever” like it’s nothing.

“That stop light took forever.”

“I’m going to be stuck at work forever.”

“I’ve been reading this book forever.”

What if all of that became literal? What if you really did sit at a stop light for the rest of existence? Talk about a level of hell, if I had to sit at a stop light for the rest of humanity’s days I would go crazy. What if that was the backlash of this potion? What if you actually got stuck at work forever? Oh, Lord, I would find a way to get rid of the potion and go back to a “normal” life if someone told me I had to spend the rest of eternity at my job. Gross.

Who Wants to Live Forever?As for the book — if it’s a good one, I’ll totally read it forever. Throw me some Harry Potter, I’m chilling for life. Well, for the life of humanity, in this case.

If I were to get my hands on this immortal potion, perhaps if I could edit it to staying young for 50 years before finishing out my life, I would use that time to travel. See the world, learn about different cultures, find out what binds us all as humanity. I wouldn’t want to be completely selfish about it, keeping the secrets all to myself just so I’m the one who lives forever. The potion, like everything else in life, would be a learning experience. And I feel that I would learn very fast that forever is a lot longer than I ever thought.

Forever.

Eternity.

Immortal.

Such powerful words, but if you broke them down individually, they all spell out one thing:

Lonely.

This is what makes me lie awake at night.

Related Articles:

  1. Do good: Daily Prompt: No Longer a Mere Mortal | so i wrote
  2. Daily Prompt | Vicariously Poetic
  3. Daily Prompt: No Longer a Mere Mortal – show us LONGEVITY. | masadiso79’s Blog
  4. Daily Prompt: No Longer a Mere Mortal | Under the Monkey Tree
  5. I’m On Medication And Can’t Come Up With A Title For This Prompt | The Jittery Goat
  6. No Longer a Mortal | mycookinglifebypatty
  7. Too much pain, too much tears | Vivir, que no es poco
  8. No Longer a Mere Mortal: Almost Immortal – Bhishma’s Tale | Khana’s Web
11 thoughts on “It Feels Like Forever

  1. No way. Watching every single person I’ve ever known and loved die off?

    Nope.

    And not only that, but to be there, literally BE THERE when the end of humanity actually takes place.

    Pass.

    I don’t know what’s going to happen to me after I die, but it can’t be any worse than the prison without walls that is life on this continually degrading, over-crowding planet.

    Unless I’d be one of the first to colonize Mars.

    I could be King of Mars. No one would know how long I’ve done it, they would just know I was there as long as they were. That I always was, and I always will be.

    • Oh, for sure, we could totally take over Mars. I bet it would be better than here anyway.

      I’m not sure what happens after death, either. Obviously, there’s plenty of theories and observations, but nobody knows.

      Although if I get the option of haunting some people and being a ghost (temporarily, of course, because we’re not doing forever) I would totally haunt some people.

      • DUDE ghosting would be so kick-ass for a while. I’d be the really annoying one who rearranges your alphabetized DVDs or makes your dog wake up from a dead sleep just to bark at an empty corner in the house.

        I’d be such a cool ghost.

      • I wouldn’t touch the alphabetized DVDs because I would still believe in karma.

        I would, however, blow on their feet if they had a leg hanging out of the sheets while they were sleeping.

        Tickle, tickle.

  2. FYI, Fredric Brown (1906-72) wrote a trio of related stories called “Great Lost Discoveries,” explaining how invisibility, invulnerability, and immortality were all discovered in the 20th century, but then lost. Brown was known for his humor, and here it shows.

  3. Pingback: No Longer a Mere Mortal: Almost Immortal – Bhishma’s Tale | Khana's Web

  4. Pingback: I’m On Medication And Can’t Come Up With A Title For This Prompt | The Jittery Goat

  5. Pingback: Too much pain, too many tears | Vivir, que no es poco

  6. Pingback: No Longer a Mortal | mycookinglifebypatty

Thoughts?

