Pre-Midlife Crisis

For some reason, the age 24 has always seemed like a good one to me. If you talk to anyone in their late 20s to early 30s, they always talk about how much they don’t miss the 20s. When you’re a kid and 30 seems so far and so old and you want to stay young and free forever, you don’t really put into perspective all of the things life will throw at you as you grow up. At this point, I would love to be in my 30s. People keep telling me not to rush that, but seriously — this whole 20s thing is so overrated. I’ve learned:

  1. You can really only go out and get drunk all the time between 21-23. Then you look like an alcoholic.
  2. Your degree will get you nowhere, because you need 90 years of experience everywhere anyway and your age will matter when it comes to your job choice more than your talents and abilities.
  3. People are fake.
  4. Everything changes on a daily basis. Forget making plans, life and God have other things in store for you.

Get a Clue21-23 was not fun for me. Well, it wasn’t all bad. But I definitely miss the teen years (kinda) and I’m intrigued by 24-26. Everyone who has experienced these ages tells me these three years are when you really find yourself. What you want to do with your life. What kind of marital or life partner you’re looking for. What you’re willing to put up with. What you’re not. The greatest maturing stages. Blah blah, all that.

Well, I can’t wait.

The early 20s has a bad rap I think. Everyone assumes all they do is party. While that may be true in some cases, going out and partying doesn’t mean you aren’t focused, either. I earned my degree when I was still 21 years old, and yeah — I enjoyed my college experience. Going through all these thoughts and talking to all these people, I’ve found myself in a sort of pre-midlife crisis. I want to be taken seriously. I want to figure everything out about myself and my future. I want to figure out my budget, be frugal and smart. I want to enjoy life and go out and travel and see and experience and live.

But I can’t do any of it.

Midlife Crisis Ahead

Where am I gonna get the money? Oh, right, at a job. That I sell my soul to. Can’t even get a day off. (This isn’t just my job. It’s pretty much any job that isn’t working for yourself.)

Apart from all of the crisis happening in my head, I’m really looking forward to these next few years. I’ve been working on my novel since I was 18, and I think I may have something in me. If not, I suppose by the time I’m 26 I will have figured my entire life out. 🙂

In the words of the most perfect band ever, (Skillet), “This life can almost kill you when you’re trying to survive…it’s good to be alive, I was lost and I was gone, I was almost dead inside…it’s a beautiful night, and it’s good to be alive.”

Hang in there all you mid-20s kids going through the same thing! We’ll figure it out!

11 thoughts on “Pre-Midlife Crisis

  1. Let’s see. I have been around about 50 years longer than you. Yeah you hang in there you 20 something’s and you will figure it out. Not! I am still trying, so good luck with that. LMAO 😀

  2. I really screwed up my 20s (24-27 was the worst when it came to choices, at least in my case–and that didn’t include partying). The 30s were good to get my life together, but I don’t want to go back to either decade. The 40s have been awesome so far. I am totally not kidding. Anyway, I think any age can be a good one if you have the right mindset.

    • Ohh, that’s actually a good point. I fell into my own category of stereotyping ages! I just feel like there’s a lot going on in the world around me and it’s a little overwhelming at times, ya know? It seems like the 40s will be awesome. For the time being, I shall live one day at a time and keep working to achieve all of my goals 🙂

  3. The best years of my life thus far were in the 23-26 range. I went back to college, moved across the state, and met the girl I’m going to marry as soon as I can afford a decent ring.

    My mid-midlife crisis is happening right now, actually, and I’m 28, so I’m a little late to the game. This all stems from over 10 years with the same job and virtually no chance of a promotion, and a college degree that loses relevancy with every passing day.

    Do I go back to school? Again? Do I quit the job at which I’ve spent 33 percent of my entire life and start from scratch?

    Oye.

    And another thing. WordPress is really dropping the ball. I’m supposed to get e-mails when you post stuff. Not only do I not get e-mails, but your posts don’t even show up on my reader.

    As you’re one of my favorite bloggers, this is not okay, and I’m working on a solution. So if you see me unfollow and re-follow a couple times, that’s just me trying to work this shit out.

    Looking forward to your novel!

    • I’ve thought about both going back to college and moving across the state. Haha perhaps our lives are the same! I kid, I kid.

      But I still feel you on the degree thing. My official degree is Humanities and Communications with an emphasis in Creative Writing and Social action.

      And what can I do with that?

      Nothing.

      As far as WordPress, I actually have the same issue with you. I never know when you post a blog unless it pops up in my Twitter feed, which is why I only come once in a while and have like a marathon of reading your stuff. Stupid WordPress.

  4. Oh, gawd. First, I am sorry. I know this blog is about a pre-midlife crisis…. but, um.. it was so frigging funny. I loved the 1 – 4 list (especially “people are fake” – LOL). Are you sure you don’t work at my job? Guess what? The older people get some of them actually get “better” at being fake – it’s what assholes call “being mature.” If you are at my job – please come have lunch with me? I need a laugh. And a little less “fake-ness” would be great too. Nicely done, sir.

  5. Thanks for a depressing read. I think I might just gove up on life now 30 is deemed too old! Its not my age that annoyes me its the recession and lack of good employment which is inevitably going to get worse for every young person across the world in the working class demographic.

Thoughts?

