The Silver Linings Playbook

You know it’s a good movie when…

As soon as the credits start rolling, you immediately go back to the beginning to watch it.

The only movies I’ve wished to do this for but haven’t were all the Lord of the Rings/Hobbit and Harry Potter movies because…well they’re 700 hours long.

The movies I’ve done this for:

I Hope They Serve Beer in Hell

Brothers Grimm

Black Swan

Across the Universe

and The Silver Linings Playbook

I’m a big fan of Jennifer Lawrence. I liked her in Hunger Games, and I think she did a fantastic job of composing herself when she fell over at the Oscars. A lot of people probably would have freaked out about that, but she was like, “Hey did you see this dress? Are you seriously surprised by this?”

Jennifer Lawrence Tribute

Awesome.

“What was going through my mind? A bad word I can’t say…it starts with ‘F’.”

Anyway.

With all of that, I wanted to see this movie solely based on the fact she won Best Actress, then fell over, then was a boss about it.

Silver Linings Playbook PosterI’m so glad this movie came into my life.

What an emotional rollercoaster, from beginning to end. Now, I haven’t read the book, but I feel as though the movie perfectly captures a lot of human emotions — anger, sadness, loss, confusion, humor, love. They’re all wrapped up so delicately, so subtly, and so strewn together we, as the audience, get to move with these characters throughout the movie. One scene is crazy business and makes you sweat because you don’t know what’s going to happen next, and then three minutes later you’re laughing your ass off.

Jennifer Lawrence deserved Best Actress for this, because, holy wow — what a fantastic performance. She demands attention on the screen from the moment she walks on, and it comes to her with such ease, such essentiality, and it’s not overbearing. And, stealing the screen opposite fan-favorites like Julia Stiles and Bradley Cooper make her damn impressive. I thought she did a pretty good job as Katniss, but since most of that book is mainly inside of the character’s head, I felt as though she wasn’t given as much of an opportunity to shine. That opportunity was given to her in this movie, and she took it like a boss and owned every scene. She wasn’t even in the first half hour of the movie, and quite honestly the first time I watched it I was bored until it got to her. (The first time…the second time, when I knew what I was expecting, I loved the whole thing.)

Bradley Cooper also did a fantastic job. I’ve seen him in a few things, but I’m not quite sure I’ve ever seen him play a crazy person. He should land more roles like that, because he was awesome. I’ve met a few bipolar people before and — yeah, Bradley Cooper, you may have hit the nail quite on the head. Kudos to you. I do think Bradley Cooper is a fantastic actor, and he was such a good choice for this role. (Again, haven’t read the book, so I may feel differently later on, but for now he’s the best choice.)

Lawrence and Cooper have some astounding on-screen chemistry with each other. Sure, they’re 15 years apart, and quite honestly it’s relatively obvious she’s only 21 and not, in fact, old enough to have had a three-year marriage, a sex addition, and avoid a stint in the mental ward, but they make it work. (At least he’s not old enough to be her dad, because that would have been weird.) I would completely root for them to be a couple in real life, because the way they are around each other makes for a light, heart-filled watch as their characters mold from psychopaths into respectable people…ish.

Raisin Bran

Beginning with Pat (Cooper) in a mental institution (undiagnosed bipolar), his mother breaks him free and takes him home. He’s determined to find Nikki, his wife, who has put a restraining order on him after he beat up a high school professor when he caught them having sex in his shower. (I mean, really though, who blames him?) He meets up with an old friend, Ronnie, who invites him to have dinner with himself and his wife, Veronica, so he can meet the new baby (who appeared while he was in the mental hospital.)

At the dinner, he meets Tiffany (Lawrence), a mysterious, beautiful, goth-like girl who just so happens to be Veronica’s sister. It turns out her husband has passed, she was released from her job, and is a recovering sex addict. They hit it off right away, but he’s determined to get his wife back. Tiffany reveals she sees Nikki often, and agrees to give her a letter if he agrees to do a dance competition with her.

And that is all I can say without giving away anything. Apart from that, it’s a ride of every emotion you’ve ever felt, perfectly acted and perfectly plotted for a fast-paced, truly moving movie I intend on watching over and over again.

10 thoughts on “The Silver Linings Playbook

  1. I loved this movie. I saw it before she won when it was getting all the awards buzz. It had me in tears at the end, which doesn’t happen very often. Great film.

  2. Loved the film and love Jennifer Laurence! Both her and Bradley Cooper are exactly how they book portrays their characters and I found it really amazing and powerful to watch. I think people need to take Cooper more seriously as an actor, yes yes he does have a gorgeous face but he always submerges himself so well into any role he plays! Jennifer is such a hero and you’re right, she totally bossed it at the oscars! Great post 🙂

    • Thank you =) I’ve always enjoyed everything Bradley Cooper is in, I think he’s a great actor. I’m about halfway through the book now, since writing this post yesterday — it was intriguing! Haha. I do see more now, though, how they were a good match for the characters. Well, more so than I already did anyway.

  3. Oh wow. Jennifer is just adorable. I just saw Hunger Games on my Kindle for free – and I think I love her. I can’t wait to see this – and I am pretty sure I never wanted to see it before… now. So thanks 😉

  4. Pingback: Silver Lining Playbook | Ruined for Life: Phoenix Edition

  5. Pingback: Silver Linings Playbook | Mixed Media

  6. I appreciate your thorough and thoughtful review of a well-made movie.

    I just saw “Silver Linings Playbook” yesterday and thought it was a fantastic film that simply went terribly wrong in the end. As someone with Bipolar, I’m looking to build a dialogue about it. As you have the chance, I’d love for you to read and respond to my review, here –

    http://writingforfoodinindy.wordpress.com/2013/05/22/the-hollywood-silver-linings-playbook-fake-right-go-wrong/

Thoughts?

