Mannequins

Dearest, I'm So Sorry Picture Me Broken I’ve just stumbled across a new E.P. from a really under appreciated band called Picture Me Broken. I’ve been listening to this band ever since they hopped on the airways back in 2009. I went with a friend of mine to get a tattoo, and I saw them on the cover of some music magazine discussing their success as a new band. I was flipping through it while we waited, and their age was what caught my eye. (16 at the time. The front woman, Brooklyn, is about to be 20 now.) They cited Paramore and Flyleaf as inspirations, and I really enjoy female-fronted rock music. The article spoke of Brooklyn’s screaming abilities, which only furthered my intrigue.

Picture Me Broken Wide Awake

Back when MySpace was still at least respected, I checked them out after my friend was done with her tattoo. “Dearest, I’m So Sorry,” their title track, is fantastic. I’m still impressed with the musical talents that song portrays from such young members. Brooklyn’s vocals were, of course, spectacular and note worthy, and her screaming abilities are absolutely tasteful and phenomenal. I only really enjoyed one other track on that E.P., but I still gave their first CD, “Wide Awake,” a shot when it came out in 2010. In all honesty, I’ll admit, I didn’t give it a fair shot, and when they popped up on my shuffle yesterday when I was hanging out with another friend, we did some research to see what this band was up to when we came across their new E.P., “Mannequins.”

Picture Me Broken Mannequins

Not to mention to epicness of the CD cover.

I tell this story to admit how wrong I was not giving them a fair shot. This E.P. is more than just awesome. I can’t even think of enough awesome words that won’t repeat myself over and over again. I honestly can’t believe these songs aren’t flooding the rock airwaves and getting transformed into dance-ready anthems. The stories of heartache are beautifully told, and not in that annoying, angsty-teen like way. Either they have an amazing lyricist, or they have been screwed over pretty astronomically in their short amount of life. Picture Adele’s lyrics with Hayley Williams’ (Paramore) voice, Lacy Sturn’s (Flyleaf) ability to scream, with some violin-added action to some straight up shredding rock music that parallels Breaking Benjamin and the thematic, melodic rock to the likes of Three Days Grace and Skillet. That is one intense ass mixture of amazing music.

I love how you hate me
Torture and break me
Cause I’m not kind
To the world inside
Hate me
Hold and embrace me
And bleed the life tonight
I love how you hate me

Reading the lyrics, I can see how it can be looked at as teen angst, but the way it’s sung is beautiful. This is taken from the opening song, “Torture.” Don’t believe it’s epicness?

The momentary shout out to a Phantom of the Opera song in the title song, “Mannequins”, was also both delicate and unexpectedly perfect in the song. While they used different lyrics, of course, the message behind “Mannequins” about getting sucked into the world where you have to be plastic to be perfect is nicely done. The melodic rock song explodes into your ears, and when the theme comes in at the end of the song, I thought I was going to die of excitement. “Angel of Music” is the theme, these are the shout-out lyrics:

Die for your plastic creation
You built all you wanted to be
Your beautiful, fatal illusion
Couldn’t make you real

Truth.

Seriously, how does a 19 year old bust this out? I’m just beside myself with impression, especially leading into the soft piano ballad, “Beautiful Disguise,” a hauntingly touching song dedicated to losing a loved one to alcohol. Been there, done that. This song touches me more than I’m willing to admit, partially because I’m jealous of how forwardly accurate this song is.

I want everything that lies
Behind your beautiful disguise tonight
Medicate yourself and hide
To give them all a show tonight
Disguise, disguise, disguise…

The closing song, “Nothing Farther From the Truth,” is probably the catchiest and needs to find its way onto the Top 40. Right now. Seriously, this is an anthem song that I can see thousands of people just screaming. If Gotye turned “Somebody That I Used To Know” into a intense ass rock song, here we go.

And everybody says they’re sorry
But sins won’t wash away
Bleed your eyes out
Till you’re dried out
If nothing else will do,
You know it’s hard to
Say you’re sorry when there’s
Nothing farther from the truth
And nothing left to lose

If I haven’t convinced you yet, there’s no hope for you. The E.P. is $3.96 on iTunes and it’ll take you 15 minutes to listen to it. So get to listening!

Also, Brooklyn, if you ever read this — call me.

Thoughts?

