Pitch Perfect

I don’t understand why this isn’t the most popular movie ever made. Honestly, I had to pause it like three or four times because I was laughing so hard I almost wet myself. Continuously.

For the record, Fat Amy and I should be in some sort of something together. It would be magical. People would die. Of laughter, of course.

Anyway.

I thought this was going to be a ludicrously ridiculous chick flick, and I wasn’t that interested in seeing it. (Which I suppose could be a valid reason no one else has quite seen it either.) The problem is we’re all wrong. While it does have its chick flicky tendencies, it also has obnoxiously raunchy humor in league with Superbad, Knocked Up, Wanderlust, etc… While it does bring in an even mixture of “manly” humor combined with movies in league with Bring It On and Mean Girls, this hilariously twisted wannabe-musical comedy is a hoot.

Each of these characters plays a necessary role. That might sound relatively silly, but especially in comedies there are a lot of dull roles that the movie would be perfectly fine without. All of the main characters play a vital role in making the movie what it is, and the way it’s cast emphasizes the perfection.

Beca is a hard-up music DJ who’s being forced into college by her father, who works as a Aubrey Pitch Perfectprofessor in the school. He agrees to help her move to LA and pursue her musical dreams if she joins one group on campus and spends the whole year making attempts to survive college. She comes across Aubrey and Chloe, the only two remaining members of the Barden Bellas (the a cappella group the movie centers around), and after an interesting encounter with Chloe agrees to audition.

Aubrey has an intense stick shoved inside every oraface of her body, and thinks that doing the same exact performance over and over is the only way they will be successful. Beca being the musical genius she is, comes forth with ideas and ways to improve their performances, but is consistently shot down by the annoyingly haughty Aubrey.

tumblr_m9k133EEKN1rb2an4o1_500

Fat Amy provides one of the more comical roles of the movie, saying some of the most random things I’ve ever heard come out of someone’s mouth. Rebel Wilson, the actress who portrays Fat Amy, improvised the majority of her lines, and they could not have done a better job casting her.

Lilly, the quiet Asian, has some of the most obscene lines any movie character has ever spoken. Her silence provides much of the humor throughout the movie, and if you can turn up the TV or watch it enough times to understand what she’s saying, it’s out of control. A small spoiler alert, but some of her best quotes include, “What happened last year? And do you guys want to see a dead body?” “I ate my twin in the womb.” “I set fires to fill joy.”

I Ate My Twin in the Womb

Whack.

Stacie is the slut of the group, bringing in the sexual humor without making it overdone. Alexis Knapp is hilarious, and she was five months pregnant during the filming of this movie. Very impressive, because she was hot hot hot.

I can only say positive things about this movie. If you have a chance to see it, honestly you should go for it. Give it ten minutes and I guarantee you’ll want to finish it through the end. If you like it, I recommend watching it at least two or three times, because when you go back some of the humor makes a lot more sense where you know the end result of the movie.

Image sources:

6 thoughts on “Pitch Perfect

    • I’m so happy that movie was made. I kind of hope they make a sequel, but at the same time I’m a little nervous they’re going to ruin the hilarity of the first one. Comedy sequels are really hit or miss…

  1. It plays around with its premise and idea in a goofy and fun way, but never fully comes around and takes us by surprise. Still, you’ll have a good time regardless. Nice review Andrew.

  2. Oh, I loved this. I love most movies with singing. It’s a little obsession of mine. Fat Amy or the actress who plays her is a natural comic. Love her. Can’t wait for your movie together 😉

Thoughts?

