Ghazal to Love

I hate moving. I’m going to start this post out by saying that. It’s taken up so much of my time recently, and I haven’t had a moment to sit down and write in almost 3 weeks. Not. OK. Maybe that’s why I’ve been so angry with everyone…I can’t make up a character about them and kill them off when they piss me off.

But the good thing about moving is sorting through all of your stuff and coming across things you’ve forgotten about. Like, say, my poetry book. I was forced to take a poetry class in college as part of my graduation requirements (and that was the evil teacher I’ve talked about before who tried to stop me from graduating. Funny story, now she’s my neighbor.)

Anyway, I came across this Ghazal I wrote (pronounced guh-zull.) The definition, if you don’t know, according to poets.org is: “The ghazal is composed of a minimum of five couplets—and typically no more than fifteen—that are structurally, thematically, and emotionally autonomous. Each line of the poem must be of the same length, though meter is not imposed in English. The first couplet introduces a scheme, made up of a rhyme followed by a refrain. Subsequent couplets pick up the same scheme in the second line only, repeating the refrain and rhyming the second line with both lines of the first stanza. The final couplet usually includes the poet’s signature, referring to the author in the first or third person, and frequently including the poet’s own name or a derivation of its meaning.” If you think that’s confusing, try iambic pentameter.

I’ve tried a few different things on this blog of mine, but I’ve never ventured into the realm of poetry…but in finding some of the things I wrote for that class and during that class, I decided I liked some of them. And since I’m still settling in to my new place and can’t write 10,000 words a day like I was, I thought I’d share some of my already written works. So, first, here is the Ghazal to Love.

The only thing the world revolves around is love.
The only thing that can build you up or break you down is love.

Feel the heart beating fast as butterflies grow,
Feel the rush of life as your feelings turn to love.

Brace yourself for what’s about to happen,
For as happy as you are, your pain will come from love.

Don’t be afraid to fall, however
It’s a matter of life, this thing called love.

Enjoy the moments of peace you share,
Because when it’s over you’ll still feel love.

It will hurt for a while as confusion sweeps over,
Yet you won’t be able to fall out of love

Kind, patient, unboastful and weary
Every emotion derives from love.

I, Andrew, one of the many to fall
Supposed to be strong, but I fell for love.

//

Thoughts?

