Little Boxes

I’m in the process of moving. This is one of my least favorite activities. Katie, the zombie who comes up in all of the photoshoots because she’s a team player, was nice enough to help me scout the town for boxes because I have none and they’re obviously the most essential part of moving. We were out and about for a few hours, getting boxes from her friends and coworkers, and when we came home she was going to be nice enough to help me pack.

When I got home, however, I found this little box sitting on my doorstep:

I had to blur out my address in case there are some crazies reading this, but I do promise this is addressed to me.

I had to blur out my address in case there are some crazies reading this, but I do promise this is addressed to me.

“What is this?” I asked as I picked it up. Now, obviously it’s Christmas time and there’s a chance this could be a present from someone or something I’ve ordered for someone. Didn’t think too much on it as we entered the door. We set aside the boxes we had spent the last few hours collecting and I decided to open this one.

As soon as I saw the side I almost shit myself. (Pardon my french, but really though, I legitimately almost had a bowel movement on myself.)

See that right there on the spine? That's my name.

See that right there on the spine? That’s my name.

Ecstatic and already running around my house at this point, I pulled the book the rest of the way out of the box. There it was. The first proof of my first novel, ever. I have spent my entire life working toward this goal (I’m being serious, too. I’ve been trying to write a book ever since I learned what a paragraph was in second grade.)

If you follow my blog often, you'll notice the front cover can also be found in my "Autumn" pictures as well.

If you follow my blog often, you’ll notice the front cover can also be found in my “Autumn” pictures as well.

I was not expecting this. Everything I’ve worked for was literally sitting in a box on my front doorstep when I got home. That’s like…the perfect gift. I knew, obviously, that I was going to get a proof because I designed the cover and I ordered myself one, but it wasn’t supposed to arrive for another two weeks. I sat down on my table and instantly started reading, which obviously took away from my packing (it’s been like four days and I still haven’t started. Noooo.)

Dedicated

Never has my dream ever been as real to me as it was at this point. Obviously this book isn’t about to hit the shelves because it’s still a proof and I’ve still got a little (lot) of work left to do on it, but I was able to hold my book in my hands and look at it. I can read it. I can flip through the pages. I can put it on my bookshelf and see my name under J.K. Rowling if I wish. Under George R.R. Martin if I wish. Side by side with J.R.R. Tolkien if I wish. Joe Abercrombie. Robert Jordan. Terry Goodkind. You know, anyone who has ever given me inspiration, and now I can finally put my work next to them on my bookshelf (and soon you will be too!)

Even hit almost 600 pages too. Bam!

Even hit almost 600 pages too. Bam!

The biggest reason I’m posting this is not to shamelessly promote myself (yet. When this is actually published get ready.) It’s just to inform of my absence. Since I’ve got this book a few days ago, I’ve been doing nothing but read it (i’m on page 341, I’ve still got about 200-ish left) and I’m going to start editing it as well, and my blog writing mind is currently inactive as my book writing mind is screaming “FEED ME! FEED ME!” So, if I disappear for a week or so…

Merry Christmas 🙂

//

//

Thoughts?

