O God, Save Us All

I think I’ve stated before, and if you know me you know, that Skillet is my favorite band. Ever. But, despite popular belief, they’re not the only band I like, nor the only music I listen to. Disciple is my second favorite, and if Skillet didn’t exist they would dominate my playlist much more than they already do.

They’ve just released a CD today, entitled O God Save Us All. I’ve been wanting to do a review for a while to try my hand on it, and I just can’t seem to get enough of this CD, so I figured it would be a perfect opportunity to give it a shot.

My “Professional” Rating: 300,000 stars out of 5. If I could give it that, I would.

When I checked my mailbox last Wednesday, I was not expecting this CD to arrive (a week early! I’ve already memorized the CD and waited to write this review until it came out today, because I didn’t want to be a spoiler!) Their single for this album, “Draw The Line”, was all right. It grew on me. It wasn’t my favorite Disciple song in the world, and since sometimes their CDs as a total are kind of hit-or-miss, I was worried.

I pressed play, I had goosebumps within 3 seconds, and they didn’t leave.

The guitar riffs in this CD are spectacular. There’s no other word that could possibly encompass the amazing sound they’ve produced. The riffs are so low and deep I’m surprised their strings were able to do it. They’re probably going to have to change their guitar strings every song when they play live, because it sounds like a few of them are in Drop B. That’s deep. (Unless I have my guitar chords all mixed up, it’s been a while since I’ve played. But regardless, think deep.)

I can’t imagine any of these songs not being played live. It’s a CD that demands to be played, with songs that are powerful and moving, lyrics that are bone chilling and accurate to most people, and just music that begs to be rocked out to. If you get this or listen to any of these songs, turn them up. I’ve listened to them quietly, and it’s not the same. The bass drops and the climactic points of some of the songs make it damn near impossible to stay seated in your seat. Even now, as I write this review, I’m listening to it to get a feel for the music, and this post has already taken me an hour because I have to keep focusing on how good it is.

Don’t trust me? That’s ok! I’m going to link a couple of songs and I’m going to talk about all of them (so if you’re not ready to handle the awesomeness, back out now! But even if you don’t read on, at least listen to a couple of the songs. Seriously). Because this CD left me speechless (at first, but clearly I have had enough time to talk about how awesome I think it is as I am already 600 words into my review and I haven’t even gotten to any of the songs yet. Don’t judge me.)

#1. Outlaws

I was not expecting this song. What I mean by that is the way this acts as the intro is awesome. I could see this song being an intense opening for a concert (I also think Disciple should start investing in pyro. Especially for this CD.) It’s a low bass entrance, turning into an addicting guitar riff, exploding into an in-your-face rock song and bearing beautiful lyrics such as “Around your neck, can you breathe when they hold you? You’re doing what they say, a puppet on their string.”

Listen to the opening. Do it.

Did you do it? Did you get chills? Did you BLAST IT AS LOUD AS YOU CAN?!

I hope so.

I understand Disciple is marketed as a Christian band, but I think they have a subtle way of showing it. What I honestly think when I hear most of their songs that directly relate to Christianity, kind of like this one, I think of the government. Or humanity in general. Christian or not, people have problems, let’s be real. One of the best lyrics I think in this song that can explain how I feel is, “You’re more than just a face, more than just a name. You’re more than labels that the hypocrites around you gave.”

Delicious.

#2. O God, Save Us All

An automatic rock song, no build up, no introduction, just BAM! HI I LIKE TO ROCK! This song has some epic bass drops. Epic. Bass. Drops. I’d link to it, but I want to leave some to the imagination. I’ve resulted in 4 YouTube videos, because I don’t want to overdo it anymore than I have.

My lyric of choice for this song: “I wear a robe of regret, of pain I’d like to forget, like somebody left the record stuck on repeat; so that just when you think it’s over, it keeps screaming.”

I can’t tell you the nights I’ve laid awake thinking about stuff like this. Just when you think it’s over…

The build-up to the bridge, the pause, and the bass drop towards the end of the song make me want to run outside and just scream. In a good way. I want to rage to this CD. Rage hard.

(Honest talk for a second, my tricep muscles hurt from my air drumming. You laugh, I laugh, maybe you judge, I don’t care, either way it’s the truth.)

#3. R.I.P.

I like this as a kind of start-over song. Talking about leaving your dark side in the past, letting it rest in peace, and moving on with your life. You can’t change the past, it’s there, and the best thing you can do is move from it. That’s what I feel like this song is telling me. And that no one can stop us from moving on and being strong.

“Turn the knife in my side, and I will get up again. I’ve got a power within that won’t stop.”

Part of the problem with just reading the lyrics is you can’t hear it. Scream those lyrics at the top of your lungs. Not to mention the breakdown at the end of this song, too. (I’m quite aware I’m mentioning a lot of breakdowns, but each of them are so good it’s kind of hard not to touch on how awesome they are.)

This is one of those songs I envision as a chant with the audience. The lead singer doesn’t sing this one too much as the audience will be too busy screaming the lyrics back at them, because it will excite them and move them.

So move…to getting the CD. =)

#4. Once And For All

The introduction for this song is amazing. Sends shivers down my spine every time. When it’s night and I’m driving down the highway and I see the ocean and the lights and the surrounding area and this song comes on, I get chills. I love it. And when the fog rolls down it acts as a good creepy song as well.

The end of this song, for some reason, kind of reminds of The Nightmare Before Christmas. I just feel like this a very “fall” kind of song. It’s somber, but not too sad, with a message of happiness while sounding relatively depressing at the same time. Does that make sense?

Speaking of lying awake at night like I mentioned earlier, this song speaks to that: “The lies I’ve tried to justify have kept me up at night; but I’m done trying to hide my life.”

The message of moving on in this song and forgiving yourself so you can forgive others is nice to me. Because I try to be a very forgiving person, and hearing things I think and feel already being put into a melodically haunting song make me happy, because I don’t feel as crazy as some of you may think I am. (But some of you are going to agree with me and you’ll know what I mean.)

#5. Someday

This song makes me sad. But happy. And they conflict with each other the entire time, fighting to be the dominant emotion, but I can’t let one of them win. It’s the oddest feeling I’ve ever felt in a song. This song kind of covers the idea of hitting rock bottom, but then picking yourself back up to continue on with life. “They say that you make beauty out of ash, but something has to burn before you can.”

It’s true!

It has to rain a little bit before the sun comes out. There’s an eye of the storm, but the storm comes back, but then the sun comes back. And things can get dark and dreary and scary, but “Someday we will rise above the pain of this world. Someday the grave and death will lose their sting. No more tears and no more shame.”

The message of love in this song is beautiful, too. (Because regardless of what the popular belief is, not all Christians are crazy hypocrites. They’re about love too. I promise.)

#6. Draw The Line

This is probably the only song I didn’t like at first (but to be fair, I heard it way before the CD came out.)

Lyrically, this song is beautiful. Melodically, this song is haunting. Musically, this song is addicting.

When this song first came out, I would listen to it whenever I felt sad. I loved the message it had. Going from “I’m at war with the person I could be, give me a chance and I’ll mess up a good thing” to “Light a match, let it burn, kiss it goodbye. Giving up what I was, this is where I draw the line.”

People in my age group especially have a lot of learning and growing to do, and this is one of those songs that people who relate to it will be like, “Dude, that’s my anthem.” I said it for a while. Set fire to your old self (hypothetically) so your new self can come out the other side, new and improved. “Burn me up, burn me up, burn me all the way. Set me on fire, this is where I draw the line.”

These are the kind of goosebumps I get in my stomach. Not butterflies. But those awkward chills where it’s like…”Hey, did you spend a night in my head? Stop practicing inception because these are my thoughts and feelings and I don’t appreciate the world knowing them.”

This is another one I see the crowd just singing along to, with smiles on their faces and cell phones in the air.

#7. Kings

It seems to me that this is a fan favorite on this album. I check the #ogodsaveusall hash tags on Twitter to see what people think. A lot of positive reviews are about this song.

BECAUSE IT’S AWESOME.

This is one of those could-be-the-government songs. Low introduction, leading up to an epic rock-in-your face music. Check it out.

Love it. I love it.

“We are the products of hate, we are the ones that you blame, attention is the poison you crave.”

I think this lyric is so well-written. When looking at this as a government song (by the way, maybe I should also announce I watched V For Vendetta like the day before I got this, so people rising against their governments was kind of a thing in my head when I heard this) I think it’s a good metaphor for how the government treats its people. If you don’t want to get too into the governmental aspects of this music like I do, think of it as a….”This is a song for my haters” kind of song.

You try to tell me that I’m never gonna be enough. That’s where you’re wrong and it’s driving you mad that I’m free.

Lie if you want, in your bed of hate.

#8. Unstoppable

This song has my favorite guitars. The riffs are jaw dropping. The bass drops and break downs are suffocating, but in a way that makes you yearn for more. You don’t need to breathe when you’re in the middle of getting your face melted off.

You can’t be stopped, you will survive.

(See what I did there? If you hear the song it will make more sense.)

If you get too tired rocking out to this song, don’t worry. You’re unstoppable. And hey, they even let you know “You feel it in your lungs, here it comes, second wind like a slingshot catapult over the edge.”

This is a mosh pit song. If they play at awesome, huge festivals, people are going to get hurt to this song. Because it sure makes me want to pick someone up and throw them. (In the name of rock, of course.) This is a rage song, in quite a few ways. But it’s healthy rage.

#9. The One

If you ever see me at a Disciple concert and this song comes on…

Move.

Because I will take you out.

Because I will be rocking so hard someone will get hurt.

Because this song makes me happy.

Raking out the ashes from your eyes, buried alive over open skies, you feel the sting of the burn for the first time.

I’ve heard this song probably upwards of 200 times in the less-than-a-week that I’ve had it (I’m being serious.)

I still get chills.

I still want to rage.

This is the reason my triceps hurt. And my neck. And my legs. And my voice from screaming. And the reason people give me weird looks when I have my iPod on as I walk to work.

This song makes me wish I could fly. If I ever skydived from space, I would jam to this song for my entire freefall. And I would scream it at the top of my lungs from the earth’s atmosphere.

And someone, somewhere, would hear me.

#10. Beautiful Scars

I like this song because it uses the word “paradox.” I don’t know why, but I like that word. I’m going to name my dog Paradox, and that dog is going to be awesome and you’ll all be jealous.

I digress.

This is another good one for depressed people, I feel. “It’s a mystery in this paradox, in a time we were abandoned to a maze of miserable.”

I think this is one of those nice, melody-driven songs. It’s catchy. It’s uplifting. It’s encouraging. It probably won’t be a huge favorite amongst fans, but I think this CD can do no wrong, so I could be wrong. Someone out there has to agree with me.

#11. Trade A Moment

This is the cutest song in the world, I think. I hope couples dance to this song sometime.

So baby let’s go dance across the sky tonight, cause no boundary can keep me from your arms tonight.

I’m really happy they decided to do this as a duet. I don’t know who does the female vocals, but she adds a lot to this song. I was going to link it, but it’s not on YouTube yet so unfortunately I can’t.

All you need to know about this song is it’s slow, it’s cute, and it should remind you of a loved one.

Well, if you’re still alive at the end of the monstrous review, thank you for taking the time to read. If you’ve taken the time to read this entire thing and still aren’t convinced this is a CD worth checking out, I have no help for you.

If you do decide this CD is good enough to check out, enjoy getting your face melted off. You won’t be sorry you did.

3 thoughts on “O God, Save Us All

Thoughts?

